From This Day Forward

Sarah Jean Larkins is now official.

On Thursday, June 22nd, 2017 John and I visited the Wilmington courthouse to exchange vows for a wedding day that was simple, spontaneous, and filled with adventure.

Nearly a year after our engagement and the day before John’s birthday, our wedding day fulfilled my personal dreams. We met at the courthouse for a simple, stress-free marriage ceremony performed by the local magistrate. Then, we had a celebratory lunch along the Cape Fear River while sharing the exciting news with family and friends that “Surprise! We got married!”

IMG_0293

If exchanging vows hadn’t triggered enough adrenaline for the day, after lunch we had another adventure planned: flying lessons at the Brunswick Air School!

IMG_0297

Three hours married and I was seated in the back seat of an N3030E 1978 Cessna 172N airplane with John in the pilot’s seat.

IMG_1782

We let the certified pilot handle the takeoff and landing, but while we were in the air John had full control. He practiced climbs, turns and descents while steering us down the North Carolina coastline. After a 30 minute ride, we taxied back to the Brunswick Air terminal for my turn.

I slid into the pilot’s seat and craned my neck up to see over the control panel. With a turn of the key, the engine came back to life. My first task was taxiing down the runway for takeoff. While on the ground, the aircraft is controlled by a left and right foot pedal that turn the plane. With a little practice, I was able to keep her headed down the center strip before the pilot radioed in our flight plan and got the ok for take off. A handful of clouds had rolled in since our first flight so I got to try steering up over, down under, and right through the middle of them. After cruising over Bald Head island and circling around the 300-year-old lighthouse, we made it back safely to the terminal.

John and I won the best dressed award for new pilots and received a logbook documenting our first successful flights.

Simple. Spontaneous. Adventurous.

When I think about how I want to live my life, these three words certainly make the list.

As John and I now begin our future together I hope that we continue to tread simply on a planet which needs more minimalists; be spontaneous in our daily lives and our willingness to embrace change; and seek adventures that challenge our comfort zone and ensure that we never stop learning.

3 thoughts on “From This Day Forward”

  1. Congrats on a beautiful & special day. You guys make an amazing couple & I know your lives will be filled with a lot of adventure. Wishing you much happiness!
    Love, Aunt Cindy & Uncle Dave

  2. Congratulations Sara Jean, & John, Uncle Mark and I are so happy for you. Beautiful Wedding pictures. Married Life is Wonderful, Celebration of Love. Look forward to seeing you soon. Love Aunt Betsy & Uncle Mark

Leave a Reply

