Stories

My goal in starting this blog is to inspire storytelling…

First, one of my favorite fruits of all time is pineapple! Here in the Philippines, pineapples are so incredibly sweet and juicy that I tend to eat the entire pineapple including the core. When my family and coworkers noticed this it was met with bafflement and later shared with laughter in many households that evening. Furthermore, I also like to eat the nutrient-rich skin of sweet potatoes. Imagine the surprise of my host family when they set aside their own peels for the trash and I proceeded to eat them.

Kindergarden students presenting a
Kindergarden students presenting a “Nutrition month” song and dance.

Next story, during the course of the Blog It Home Competition voting, I discovered that I am 4 degrees separated from the Director of the entire Peace Corps operation, Carrie Hessler-Radelet. Generously, a relative of hers forwarded my blog onto her with an enthusiastic, personal recommendation!

And finally, as a true marine science nerd, I regularly send out “Fish Fact” blast texts to everyone in my Filipino cell phone. For those of you who cannot receive the texts here is some interesting info about our beloved Nemo fish:

DSCF0340

Fish Fact: Many fish change sex during the course of their lifespan including parrotfish, wrasse, and emperors. Anemonefish are unique because most sequential hermaphrodites start female and transform into males, while clownfish change to become female from initial male status, meaning that little Nemo may one day be not only a father, but possibly a mother too!

I want to share knowledge in such a way that people not only learn something, but talk about it after reading. Jonah Berger, from the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School of Business, recommends positive, emotionally-charged and practically useful content in his co-authored article, “What Makes Online Content Go Viral?” With this in mind the 3 stories above were told with the hope of hooking and therefore retaining my new, much larger, audience pool. Take a guess which story corresponds to which characteristic and then continue to share!

Standing on a Spanish fort in the provincial capital, Romblon.
Standing on a Spanish fort in the provincial capital, Romblon.
Leave a Reply

